THE CALLER

By Matthew PARKHILL

BANKSIDE FILMS - as SALES All rights, World

Thriller - Completed 2009

When troubled divorcee, Mary Kee, begins to receive mysterious phone calls from an unknown caller she quickly begins to feel haunted in her own home. When she discovers that the person is calling from the past, Mary realises that she will have to kill her in order to survive.

    • Year of production
    • 2009
    • Genres
    • Thriller
    • Countries
    • USA
    • Languages
    • ENGLISH
    • Duration
    • 88 mn
    • Director(s)
    • Matthew PARKHILL
    • Writer(s)
    • Sergio CASCI
    • Producer(s)
    • Piers TEMPEST (Salt), Robin FOX (Alcove Entertainment), Amina DASMAL (Alcove Entertainment)
    • Synopsis
    • When troubled divorcee, Mary Kee, sets up home in her new apartment, she stumbles across an old telephone which she quickly falls in love with. Struck by its antique charm, she gives it pride of place in her home.
      Before long, Mary begins to receive strange phone calls from a mysterious, unknown caller. Over time, she discovers that the caller is a woman called Rose and the two strike up an unlikely friendship. However, when Rose claims to be calling from the past, Mary begins to question her new friend’s motives.
      As Rose’s phone calls become ever more disturbing, Mary’s sense of terror escalates. Feeling haunted in her own home, she cuts all contact with Rose.
      Enraged by Mary’s betrayal, Rose threatens to exact her terrible revenge. Not on Mary in the present but on Mary as a child in the past.
      Mary finally realises that she will have to kill Rose in order to save herself, But how can she kill someone living in the past and what will happen if she fails?
      From the director of internationally acclaimed DOT THE I, THE CALLER is a chilling supernatural thriller in the tradition of THE GRUDGE and THE RING.
Distribution Country
Release date
Distributor
Rights
Local title
Company Country Roles