By Verònica FONT, Yolanda OLMOS


Documentary - Completed 2017

    • Year of production
    • 2017
    • Genres
    • Documentary, Musical, Biography
    • Countries
    • SPAIN
    • Duration
    • 61 mn
    • Director(s)
    • Verònica FONT, Yolanda OLMOS
    • Writer(s)
    • Verònica FONT, Yolanda OLMOS
    • Producer(s)
    • Andrés LUQUE (RTVE - TELEVISION ESPAÑOLA, S.A.), Yolanda OLMOS (Producciones Doble Banda), Jordi AMBRÓS (TV3-TELEVISIO DE CATALUNYA)
    • Synopsis
    • Artists of the calibre of Martha Argerich, Maria Jôao Pires, André Previn and Gerard Schwartz offer us an insight into the life of Alicia de Larrocha, an exceptional and extraordinarily talented pianist who was one of the 20th century’s most distinguished performers.
      Behind her genius – over 4,000 concerts, thousands of international trips, major venues and awards (four Grammys, the Prince of Asturias award, Gold Medal of the Spanish Institute of New York) – we discover a woman who worked tirelessly, a performer who respected and was loyal to composers, an artist in search of an ideal.
      A wonderful soundtrack takes us from Barcelona, the city where she was born and gave her first recital aged 4, to New York, the great metropolis she adored and that she affectionately called “Lady Mozart”. The two cities dance to the rhythm of the music of Falla, Granados, Albéniz, Mozart, Beethoven, Rachmaninov, interpreted by Alicia de Larrocha and accompanied by the world’s finest orchestras.