VILLAIN

By Mikael MARCIMAIN

SIERRA / AFFINITY - as SALES

Thriller - Development 2017


    • Year of production
    • 2017
    • Genres
    • Thriller
    • Countries
    • USA
    • Director(s)
    • Mikael MARCIMAIN
    • Writer(s)
    • Casey AFFLECK
    • Producer(s)
    • Teddy SCHWARZMAN, Casey AFFLECK, Ben STILLMAN
    • Synopsis
    • Set in an atmospheric city overrun with crime, VILLAIN is a gritty and grounded modern take on the origins of a superhero. Having survived a brutal home invasion that left his family dead, Bill Holbrook (Casey Affleck) has lost everything of meaning in his life. All seems without purpose until Bill realizes he’s developed a unique power in the wake of his trauma – an ability to see into people’s pasts, presents, and futures. Equipped with this gift, Bill goes on a mission of revenge both to find the men who killed his family and to clean up his city long overdue for justice. A character-driven, high concept thriller in the vein of TAXI DRIVER and NIGHTCRAWLER, VILLAIN explores the fine line between being a hero and becoming a villain.
Distribution Country
Release date
Distributor
Rights
Local title
Company Country Roles