HOSPICE

By Joanne MITCHELL

GRIMMFEST FILMS - as PROD / FIN

Thriller - Development 2021

Contained supernatural thriller in the vein of The Changeling & Burnt Offerings. A young nurse, struggling with addiction, takes a job caring for an invalid woman with the hope that the isolation will offer her a chance to get clean, but strange occurrences have her questioning her own mind.

    • Year of production
    • 2021
    • Genres
    • Thriller, Horror
    • Countries
    • UNITED KINGDOM
    • Languages
    • ENGLISH
    • Duration
    • 90 mn
    • Director(s)
    • Joanne MITCHELL
    • Writer(s)
    • Joe VOISIN
    • Synopsis
    • SARA GONZALEZ, a young nurse struggling with addiction, is hired to nurse MS. CRANDALL, an elderly woman in a vegetative state. Sara is shocked to discover that Ms. Crandall still has spontaneous reflexes when the old woman suddenly opens her ICE-BLUE EYES.

      That night, Sara has a nightmare involving Ms.Crandall and the caretaker, Tom, tells Sara about MARY ANN SIMMONS, the former nurse who attacked Ms. Crandall years ago.

      REDGE, Sara’s sisters dealer, surprises her in Ms. Crandall’s room demanding his money. Sara doesn’t have it so Redge forces sexual favors in return while Ms. Crandall “watches” them.

      Sara has another nightmare and begins hearing VOICES. She is slowly coming unhinged. Redge returns for his money, but during a confrontation, he mysteriously chokes to death. Thinking the unconscious Ms. Crandall is somehow to blame, Sara locks herself in the bathroom in fear.

      In the middle of the night, Sara wakes from a drug-induced stupor to discover Redge’s dead body, hidden in the basement. She turns to flee and comes face to face with Ms. Crandall, no longer confined to her bed

      The next day, an ambulance arrives for the now deceased Ms. Crandall. As Sara drives away, she looks in the rearview mirror and removes her sunglasses, revealing the ICE-BLUE EYES OF MS. CRANDALL.
Distribution Country
Release date
Distributor
Rights
Local title
Company Country Roles