GOETHE!

By Philipp STOELZL

EESTI RAHVUSRINGHÄÄLING - as BROAD

Drama - Completed 2010

A fresh take on the early years of Germany's most famous literary genius and rebel, in the vein of “Shakespeare in Love” and “Amadeus”.

    • Year of production
    • 2010
    • Genres
    • Drama, Romance
    • Countries
    • GERMANY
    • Languages
    • GERMAN
    • Duration
    • 102 mn
    • Director(s)
    • Philipp STOELZL
    • Writer(s)
    • Alexander DYDYNA, Christoph MUELLER, Philipp STOELZL
    • Producer(s)
    • Christoph MUELLER, Helge SASSE
    • Synopsis
    • A modern pop fairytale. Germany 1772 - The young and tumultuous Johann Goethe (Alexander Fehling) is sent by his father to a sleepy little town to mend his ways after failing his law exams. At first, he tries to do his best at the Supreme Court and even convinces his superior Kestner (Moritz Bleibtreu). But then Lotte (Miriam Stein) enters his life and nothing is the same as before as they fall in love with one another. However, Johann is unaware that Lotte is in fact already promised by her father (Burghart Klaußner) to Kestner...The dramatic and unfulfilled love between the poet and Lotte was the template for his masterpiece "The Sorrows of Young Werther".
Distribution Country
Release date
Distributor
Rights
Local title
Company Country Roles