THE AWAKENING

By Nick MURPHY

STUDIOCANAL - as SALES All rights, World

Thriller - Completed 2010

Haunting and moving in equal measure, THE AWAKENING is a sophisticated psychological, supernatural thriller in the tradition of THE OTHERS and THE ORPHANAGE but with its own unique and thrilling twist.

Festivals
& Awards

Toronto - TIFF 2011
Gala Presentations
    • Year of production
    • 2010
    • Genres
    • Thriller
    • Countries
    • UNITED KINGDOM
    • Languages
    • ENGLISH
    • Director(s)
    • Nick MURPHY
    • Writer(s)
    • Stephen VOLK, Nick MURPHY
    • Producer(s)
    • David THOMPSON
    • Synopsis
    • The Awakening is set in 1921, a post-war world of loss where the bereaved seek solace in spiritualism. Haunted by the death of her fiancé, Florence Cathcart is on a mission to expose all séances as exploitative shams. However, when she is called to a boys' boarding school to investigate a case of the uncanny, she is gradually forced to confront her skepticism in the most terrifying way, shaking her scientific convictions and her sense of self to the very core.
Distribution Country
Release date
Distributor
Rights
Local title
Company Country Roles