INNOCENT

By Tom ROBERTS

NYAC - as PROD

Thriller - Development 2010

This contemporary thriller sees Derry, a shattered soul losing his miond after killing an innocent child. Desperately trying to put right whas gone wrong he searches for the child's mother. However, hot on his tail are a murderous gang, two mismatched detectives and a young girl, who he whishes he h

    • Year of production
    • 2010
    • Genres
    • Thriller
    • Countries
    • UNITED KINGDOM
    • Languages
    • ENGLISH
    • Budget
    • 3 - 5 M$
    • Duration
    • 90 mn
    • Director(s)
    • Tom ROBERTS
    • Writer(s)
    • Chris RICKABY
    • Producer(s)
    • Phil PARKER (NYAC)
    • Synopsis
    • What terrifies a terrorist?
      The men who haunt our dreams, what haunts them?
      For DERRY NOONAN, a bomb-maker diagnosed with schizophrenia, Terror has a face that is small, blonde and pretty. And a name: ANGELINE O’DRISCOLL, a dead 10 year old who once set out to cross a road and buy herself a chocolate-chip ice-cream.
      The little girl isn’t the only secret his raddled mind carries. There’s something else in there too. Something that would make anyone shiver. Ex Priest turned killer CAHILL BURN, a man who uses the Devil’s tools to do God’s work, wants that something. And what Burn wants he gets.
      THE INNOCENT is an intriguing, psychological thriller in the tradition of A Beautiful Mind, and The Crying Game, which follows Burn’s search for Derry, and Derry’s quest to exorcise the demons that stalk his shattered imagination. In an attempt to do this he tracks down Angeline’s broken, delicate, vodka-addicted mother JEAN. A woman so consumed by grief that she is systematically tracking down every spiritualist she can find in a doomed attempt to contact her dead daughter.
      As Burn set his republican dogs, MOUSE and McLEISH, to hunt down Derry and Jean the chase is joined by two mis-matched counter-terrorism officers MIRE and O’HARA, who are determined to get to the brutally miss-matched couple first.
      The action takes us on dark and eerie journey from Ireland to the isolated and stunningly beautiful island of Holy Island in Northumberland where Burn finally catches up with his prey and Derry confesses his true identity to Jean, only to find that she carries a secret every bit as damaging as his own.
    • Partners & financing
    • Co-producer/s and distribution sought.
    • Beginning of shooting
    • Sep 01, 2010
Distribution Country
Release date
Distributor
Rights
Local title
Company Country Roles