1956

E'TOPIA,INC. - as PROD

Thriller - Development 2017

After a hike into the mountains a young woman turns up at a remote gas station and reports her sister killed in an accident. The owners grant her shelter from a storm. But by next morning they claim they know that Laura murdered her sister and begin to make demands…

    • Year of production
    • 2017
    • Genres
    • Thriller, Drama, Second film
    • Countries
    • GERMANY, AUSTRIA, FRANCE, ITALY
    • Languages
    • ENGLISH
    • Budget
    • 3 - 5 M$
    • Writer(s)
    • Tobias MEINECKE, Thomas KUBISCH
    • Producer(s)
    • Tobias MEINECKE
    • Synopsis
    • It begins as a relaxing weekend hike into the mountains. It ends as a ruthless sibling rivalry between Alice and her schizoid-paranoid twin Laura.
      During the hike Laura, a former model, announces her intention to stop her clinical psychiatric treatment and return home to claim her shares of the family fortune. When Alice urges her to continue her treatment and medication, Laura flips and accuses her sister of imprisoning her and squandering her inheritance.
      Hours later, a disturbed Laura shows up at an isolated gas station run by redneck brothers and reports Alice killed in a mountain accident. The brothers, one a brute, the other an imbecile, grant Laura shelter from the impending storm. But by next morning they claim they know that Laura murdered her sister and begin to make demands…
      A genre bending, psychological thriller in the tradition of ‘Deliverance’, ‘Memento’ and ‘Whatever Happened to Baby Jane’.
    • Partners & financing
    • Seeking producing partners and financing
Distribution Country
Release date
Distributor
Rights
Local title
Company Country Roles